Gelatin Portion Of The Mutual 105 Doxycycline Capsule
Updated
Mimi369 Says:
Hello. I have a question about the source of gelatin that is in this particular capsule (NDC 53489-0119). I know that most capsules are from animal-based gelatin, but I want to know if the gelatin in this one is plant or animal-based. If it is animal-based, what is the animal source of the gelatin in this specific capsule?
From what I'm seeing the gelatin is being listed on DailyMed as "unspecified" (UNII: 2G86QN327L). That means it can be pretty much any type, such as Marine, Bovine, etc.
Doxycycline 100 mg by Sun Pharmaceuticals (formerly Mutual)
The reason that I ask this question is that I cannot consume pork because of my religion. I can consume beef, poultry, goat, and seafood, but not pork. As long as the gelatin portion is not porcine or mixed with porcine, I am fine with the capsule.
Was this helpful?0
3
Roy Says:
Re: Mimi369 (# 2)
You may wish to steer clear of the capsules, as it does appear that porcine gelatin is a possibility per the substance details page (under the "Mixture Components" section).